2016 Award and Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 Environmental Health Award and Scholarship Winners

AAS Davis Calvin Wagner Sanitarian Award

CAPT Wendy Fanaselle

Accela/NEHA 2016 AEC Scholarships

Valerie Cohen
Peter Cooley
Becky Elias
Kathryn Garcia
Nancy-Ann Hall
Carly Hegarty
Christy Klaus
Iris Lang
Shannon McKeon
Mary Alice Peterson
Therese Pilonetti
Karen Solberg
April Torham
JoAnn Xiong-Mercado
Lydia Zweimiller

AEHAP/NCEH Student Research Competition

Scott Biebas, Baylor University
Ethan Fuhrman, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
Marissa Taylor, Western Carolina University
Joshua Volkan, East Carolina University

Dr. R. Neil Lowry Grant

Riverside County Department of Environmental Health, CA | View the 2016 Award Winner Announcement

Excellence in Sustainability Award

City of Plano, Environmental Health & Sustainability Department 

View Excellence in Sustainability Award

HUD Secretary's Award for Healthy Homes

Healthy Homes Innovation and Achievement in Cross Sector Coordination Among Health, Environment, and Housing

  • Yesler Terrace Breathe Easy Program (Seattle, WA)

Healthy Homes Innovation and Achievement in Public Policy

  • Regional Asthma Management Program (Oakland, CA)

Healthy Homes Innovation and Achievement in Public Housing/Multifamily Supported Housing

  • Boston Residential Investigation on Green and Healthy Transitions (BRIGHT)

View HUD Secretary's Award for Healthy Homes

Innovating for Environmental Health App Challange

Biky, created by Nicolas Leon, Diana Hurtado, and Angela Jimenez

NEHA/AAS/APU Scholarships


  • Maryann Cowart, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire
  • Morgan Lawson, Western Carolina University
  • Molly Smith, University of Georgia


  • Naomi Carlson, Kent State University

Donate to the NEHA/AAS/APU Scholarship

NEHA Affiliate Certificates of Merit Award


  • Barry Ambrose (AL)
  • Katie Bante (AK)
  • Sandy Collins (MA)
  • Kathy King (NE)
  • Candice Levenberry (Nat’l Capitol Area)
  • Ronald David Lund (UT)
  • Jason Ravenscroft (IN)
  • Shannon Rohr (MN)
  • Michelle Clausen Rosendahl (IA)
  • Traci Slowinski (TX and Business & Industry)
  • Jessica Voglewede (MI)


  • AL—The Daniel Foundation
  • FL—Host affiliate team for the NEHA 2015 AEC (Team members: Tricia Dall, Michael Crea, and Carolynn Balcar)
  • MA—Local Public Health Institute of Massachusetts Inspector Training, Food Certificate Program
  • MD, Nat’l Capitol Area, & VA—DC Department of Health, Food Safety and Hygiene Inspection Services Division

View Certificates of Merit Award

NEHA Outgoing President Award 

Bob Custard, REHS, CP-FS

NEHA Outgoing Regional Vice-President Award

Edward Briggs, MPH, MS, REHS
Keith Johnson, RS

NEHA Past Presidents Award

Stan Hazan
David Ludwig

View Past Presidents Award

NEHA 2016 Presidential Citations

Transition Period Leadership

  • Alicia Collins
  • Brian Collins
  • Carolyn Harvey
  • Mel Knight
  • Keith Krinn

Endowment Fund Leadership

  • Welford Roberts

Support for Environmental Health Students

  • Sandra Long
  • James Speckhart

My Wingman

  • Vince Radke

Finance Committee Leadership

  • Adam London

Affiliate Engagement Committee Leadership

  • Lynne Madison

AEC Committee Leadership

  • Laura Brister
  • Roy Kroeger

Journal Column Help

  • Kristen Ruby-Cisneros

Board Support

  • Faye Koeltzow

Visionary Leadership

  • David Dyjack

NSF International Scholarship Program

Melanie Keil, Colorado State University

Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award

Food, Lodging, and Institution Section, Wake County Environmental Services (NC) 

View Samuel J. Crumbine Award

Walter F. Snyder Environmental Health Award

Stephen R. Tackitt, MPH, RS, DAAS |  View 2016 Award Winner Announcement

View Walter F. Snyder Award